High court convicts 6 Western Togoland secessionists; they’ll be sentenced on November 1

The High Court in Accra has convicted six out of ten persons standing trial for their various roles in the infamous Western Togoland secession violent campaign.

Adomonline.com reports that the Court presided over by Justice Mary Maame Ekue Yanzuh, postponed their sentencing until Wednesday, November 1.

The now convicts who are awaiting their fate in a few days include Gabriel Gorvinoa, Cephas Zodanu, Benjamin Gbadado, Richard Doglo Ametepe, Cosmos Favor, and Vincent Ramsayer Atsu Galey.

The convicts are part of the separatist group that stormed the Mepe and Aveyime police stations on September 25, 2020, stealing police cars and weapons in addition to kidnapping police officers who were on duty.

Two of the defendants who were released on bail during the trial have now been rearrested and placed under police custody until November 1 when their future will be determined. They are identified as Cosmos Havor and Gabriel Gorvinoa Godfrey.

In the meantime, four of the ten defendants, namely, John Gbedemah, Excel Liberty Aheto, Godwin Awudza, and Divine Nyadzinyo were found not guilty and were acquitted and discharged.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *